Cant seem to understand this basic class problem, can someone explain it to me?

Hello fellow programmers I am currently studying classes and objects and i cant seem to understand the following program. Can someone please explain to me how this program works? :D

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

class A {
public:
float v;
A() : v(1.0) {}
A(A &a) : v(2.0) {}
A(float f) : v(3.0) {}
float get() {
return A::v;
}
};

int main() {
A a, b(1), c(b);
cout << a.v << b.v << c.v;
return 0;
}
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

class A {
public:
float v; // Simple float variable
A() : v(1.0) {} // A default constr uctor that initializes v to 1.0, It's like writing v = 1.0;
A(A &a) : v(2.0) {} // A constructor that takes an Instance of A, and initializes v to 2.0
A(float f) : v(3.0) {} // Takes a float and initializes v to 3.0f
float get() {
return A::v; // Im not sure why it's A::v, you can just do return v;
}
};

int main() {
A a, b(1), c(b); // Creates 3 instances of A, one for each constructor explaned above
cout << a.v << b.v << c.v; // For some reason prints out v directly instead of using the get function.
return 0;
}

Overall it's a pretty poorly made program.

Edit: And dont forget to always use code tags for all your code like I just did, you can clearly see that it is much easier to read code - http://www.cplusplus.com/articles/jEywvCM9/
Last edited on
Let's start with the class. It's written in a compact style which is not helpful. If someone wrote this I'd zap them with a taser and tell them to do it again properly.

class A {
public:
float v;
A() : v(1.0) {}
A(A &a) : v(2.0) {}
A(float f) : v(3.0) {}
float get() {
return A::v;
}
};

Line 1: This is a new kind of object that can be created. These objects are known b the type identified "A".
Line 2: Everything that follows is accessible (so functions can be called, variables can be read/written) by things that are not of type "A"
Line 3: This class contains a float variable, named v