Error "C4700: uninitialized local variable"

Hello people, this is my first time using this site so cut me some slack if I have trouble. I am in currently Foundations and Computer Programming II learning how to use C++ in more advance ways. I been given my first assignment and I've already came across an error that I don't know how to fix. The error is "C4700: uninitialized local variable 'n2' used" and here is what I have.

main.cpp

#include <iostream>
#include "multiply.h"
using namespace std;
int main()
{
	//lab1 part1, I am writing a program to multiply 2 numbers.
	int n1, n2;
	cout << "Enter in 2 numbers and I will multiply them" << endl;
	cin >> n1, n2;
	multiply(n1, n2);
	system("pause");
	return 0;
}

multiply.h

void multiply(int, int);

multiply.cpp

#include <iostream>
#include "multiply.h"
using namespace std;
void multiply(int& n1, int n2)
{
	n1 = n1*n2;
	cout << "The product of those 2 numbers is " << n1 << endl;
}

Can anyone please help me figure out what I am doing wrong.
Last edited on
Hey and welcome to this forum. Please make sure to read this post - http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/beginner/1/

And to always use code tags for all of your code - http://www.cplusplus.com/articles/jEywvCM9/

(You can edit your post now and use them to make it more readable)

cin >> n1, n2;

This is not how the coma operator works. What you want is

cin >> n1 >> n2;
Thank you for that tip Tarik, but now I have come across 2 more errors when I made that change. Both of them are error "LNK2019: unresolved external symbol."

One error says 'WinMain@16 referenced in function "int_cdel invoke_main(void)" (? invoke_main@@YAHXZ)'

The other one says '"void_decl multiply(int,int)" (?multiply@@YAXHH@Z) referenced in function_main'

I think this might be more of a file error, but I'm not sure. I should probably start another forum.
I should probably start another forum.

What does that even mean?