[Q] Traverse a Binary Tree

Hello C++ Community!

I'm new to to this community, looking forward to expanding my knowledge with you all, as well as helping out where/when I can.

So, currently I am on my second C++ class in college, and I decided to ask my teacher what I could look into over the break to get ahead a little. He told me that when I come back from Summer Break, he would like an example of Traversing a Binary Tree.

My question is, if anyone has a good resource on learning how to do this? I, of course, searched Google and Youtube. However, I found that most videos were either about Binary Search Trees, or were just very poor videos. My results on Google just left me completely confused. Any and all help would be great!
So, to do this, I just create a structure for the binary tree with a variable for data, two children for it........then a function for the traversal, and then in main just create the binary tree and call the functions? Is that basically it? The wiki does a good job explaining what traversal is, but not exactly how to code it o.O
For example,
void inorder(TreeNode *n){
    if (!n)
        return;

inorder(n->left);
    do_something(n);
    inorder(n->right);
}
I feel as though this is one of those moments in learning how to program, that I am over-complicating something, and once I understand it I am going to face palm that I didn't understand it sooner lol

So, this I get, as for creating the Binary Tree, how do I differentiate between the Root Node and the Children? Or would the structure I create in main be the root, and the "children" would be the two structures in the structure? I feel like I am missing something @_@
The root node is the node that is pointed to by the rest of the program. Nothing in the tree itself identifies the ultimate root.

Internally every node thinks it is the root and has pointers to 0, 1 or 2 children. So from the node's point of view, it's only a 2-level tree.