itoa() woes

I have been trying to tweak this program to get rid of the itoa() function. I am having a little trouble properly implementing a to_string() or a snprint() replacement. I left my attempts commented out. Maybe one of the C++ experts here can assist me. This is my first time posting please forgive me if I don't do this correctly. I'm not sure how to format the code tags.

//Patient.cpp
#include <stdlib.h>
#include "Patient.h"

//Constructors
Patient::Patient(){}

Patient::Patient(string first, string last, int id, string phyFirst, string phyLast){

if(!isValidID(id)){
        cout << endl << "Invalid patient ID";
        return;
    }
    else
    {
        patientID = id;
        setName(first, last);
        physicianName.setName(phyFirst, phyLast);
    }

Status="";
}

//Accessors
string Patient::getStatus(){

return Status;
}

string Patient::getPhysicianFirstName(){

return physicianName.getFirstName();
}

string Patient::getPhysicianLastName(){

return physicianName.getLastName();
}

int Patient::getPatientID(){

return patientID;
}

//Mutators
void Patient::setPhysicianName(string first, string last){

physicianName.setName(first,last);
}

void Patient::setPatientID(int id){

if(!isValidID(id)){
        cout << endl << "Invalid patient ID";
        return;
    }
    else
        patientID = id;
	}

void Patient::setStatus(string status){

Status = status;
}

// ERROR HANDLING: To check the id number is valid
bool Patient::isValidID(int id){

char ID[10];
    itoa(id,ID,10); //<--------This is my issue!

if(strlen(ID)==5){
		for(int i=0;i<strlen(ID);i++)
        {
			if(!isdigit(ID[i]))
            {
				return false;
			}
		}
			return true;
	}
	else
	{
		return false;
	}
}

//Function
void Patient::displayPatient(){

cout << endl << getFirstName() << " " << getLastName() << " " << getPatientID() << " " << getPhysicianFirstName() << " " << getPhysicianLastName();
}
Last edited on
Why all the C standard headers?