Need help!

Hello,

I am relatively new to the whole C++ thing. However, I have picked up some skills to make a simple text based game. Now I am planning on making an actual C++ game, containing chapters and parts, I'm not going to do random numbers and all, just text and user input. Basically something for me to practice my coding skills on and hopefully add on to it as I learn more things.

Now, why I am here is mainly due to some frustrating problems I have run into. I have tested strings and pointers and by the looks of it, I don't think it would be of any benefit to me. What I am trying to do is lets say:

void chapter1(){
//User enters information like, name, age, sex, etc.

}

void chapter2(){
//User doesn't have to enter information as it has already been stored above.

}

Basically storing user input and using it in another function later on. I am quite new to C++ and I am not used to using pointers just yet. However, if there is a way to create a string pointer and do exactly as I explained above, please reply a way to do it, I would like to see it and maybe practice writing the code and memorising how the syntax would be written out and all. Thanks! Also If you need more specific explanation, reply to me, I would be happy to do so.
Instead of this, where the function doesn't accept any parameters, and doesn't return any value
void chapter1(){

}
you could do something like
void chapter1(string& name, int& age, char & sex){

}
above, the function accepts parameters by reference. That means the function can modify the contents of those variables. Then you can pass those same variables as parameters to other functions as required.
See function tutorial:
http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/functions/

Or, where you have a group of related variables, such as those giving details about the user, you could define a structure or class to contain them.
struct User {
    string name;
    int age;
    char sex;    
};

User chapter1() {