pointer problem

Hi everyone , i'm a newbie . I have a problem with my program , i hope you will show me the way how to solve it. Here's my code :
#include<iostream>
using namespace std;
int* findmax(int *a, int *b)
{
return *a > *b ? a : b;
}
int* findmin(int *a, int *b)
{
return *a < *b ? a : b;
}
void deliver(int *&x)
{
x = new int;
}
void input(int *A , int &n)
{
do {
cout << "\nEnter the number of the array: ";
cin >> n;
if (n <= 0) cout << "Error";
} while (n <= 0);
for (int i = 0; i <= n; i++)
{
cout << "A[" << i << "] = ";
cin >> A[i];
}

}
void output(int *A , int n)
{
{
cout << A[i] << "\t";
}
}
int sum(int *a, int n)
{
int s = 0;
{
s += a[i];
}
return s;
}
int main()
{
int *a, *b,n;
deliver(a);
deliver(b);
int *A = new int[n]; // (*)
cout << "Enter a and b : "<<endl;
cin >> *a >>*b;
int *max = findmax(a, b);
int *min = findmin(a, b);
cout << "max: " << *max << "\tmin: " << *min;
input(a, n);
output(a, n);
cout << "Sum is :" << sum(a, n);
delete[] A;
delete a;
delete b;
system("pause");
return 0;
}

// when i debug my program , it send a notification that tells "uninitialized local variable'n' used (line (*))" . Please show me how to fix it ,i'd be very gratefull if you can help me do that . Thanks a lot .
int main()
{
int *a, *b,n; <--------------- N has no value.
deliver(a);
deliver(b);
int *A = new int[n]; // (*) <-------------- N has no value.

you should get N from the user, or assign it something before you try to allocate memory using its value.

It actually has a value, but it could be zero, negative, or some huge thing, ... its basically whatever junk was in that spot in ram that n took over when it was created.
Last edited on
Initialise n.

int main()
{
    int* a ; // it is a good idea to declare only one variable in one statement.
    deliver(a) ; // it's ok for a to be uinitialised here; 
                 // deliver assigns a value to a (and it does not use the previous value of a)