Is it possible to access a function for a running application dll?

I am just getting into the deeper parts of creating dll's and I am wondering if it's possible to fire a external function in a dll for a running application?

Essentially I want to trigger a function in a running application without using CLI (I can't):

//Application A (Managed c#)
[DllImport(DllFilePath, EntryPoint = "ExportImage")]
private extern static void DoExport(string path);

void ExportImage()
{  
    DoExport("MyfilePath");
}
}

//Application B
extern "C" __declspec(dllexport) void __cdecl ExportImage(void* path) {
    //Use path to open a file in this application when running.
  }

Any suggestions would be welcome.
Last edited on
You need to open the DLL with LoadLibrary() and get a pointer to the function with GetProcAddress(). Then you can cast the pointer to an appropriate function pointer type and call it.
auto module = LoadLibraryW(L"foo.dll");
//check for errors
auto entry_point = GetProcAddress(module, "ExportImage");
//check for errors

typedef void (*ExportImage_f)(void *);
auto ExportImage = (ExportImage_f)entry_point;
ExportImage("MyfilePath");
Sorry, I may need a little bit more of an explanation, and I may need to give you a little bit of info.

The application loads it's plugin on start of the application through a plugin main call, and I cannot change this because it passes a message object as a suite that funny enough I need to access... What I am looking to do is somehow get the address pointer to that instance of dll (From managed C# code) and call a function so I can use that plugins calls and assignments.

I would like to return the procedures address but I might be missing something I don't see or understand how I am able to call a function from an application running on the dll using your example. I am missing a large part of the GetProcAddress().

Thanks for the reply!
Last edited on