Insertion Sorting

I literally don't understand anything about coding in C++ (I'm new to coding in general, and my professor unfortunately isn't very helpful.) My assignment for today is: "Write a C++ program to sort a list of 10 integers using insertion sort." I understand what insertion sorting is and I've watched about a million tutorials so far and cannot figure out how to write a c++ code for it. Can somebody explain to me how to do this assignment in C++?
That is an advanced program to try to start with.

You say you do not understand anything.
So let me ask: can you code the hello world program?
If yes, can you give us a better idea of what you know? Have you not had a class already or several weeks of classes if this is your first? I am having trouble thinking anyone would ask this as your first assignment on your first week of your first class.
Last edited on
I wouldn’t classify an insertion sort as anything anywhere near “advanced”.

In fact, I’d call it “beginner”.

I could even see this being your very first assignment. More on insertion sort:
http://www.cplusplus.com/faq/sequences/sequencing/sort-algorithms/insertion-sort/

You are in university now, so you aren’t going to have how to do everything handed to you. You’ll be expected to get C++ set up and running and be able to create and compile a simple program all on your own.

As jonnin said, get a hello world program running.

#include <iostream>

int main()
{
  std::cout << "Hello world!\n";
}

Once you get that to compile and execute, then you can work on adding an array of ten integers. You do not specify whether those integers are static, randomly-generated, or obtained from the user (which I recommend), but pick one and do it. Also figure out how to print them. Both the getting and the printing require a loop.