C++ and Linux

Hello guys,

I'm an intermediate-level programmer of C++ and have recently started studying Qt, QML and OpenGL. Since they are mostly using C++, the task is not that bewildering.

About Linux and its flavor Ubuntu, I have little knowledge about it. It may take some time to be skilled on it and use the command line well.

What now? Well, I at times see employers list several items as requirements for employees that include working on Linux by C++ or using C++ on/for Linux. To be honest, I can't understand completely that what they really mean, but whatever it is, it's something popular and required for getting good jobs regarding C++ programmers.
Would you please guide me? What they mean and what is the relationship between C++ and Linux?

PS: I wanted to post this query on the UNIX/Linux category but the system doesn't get my question and it says it moves it to the main page of the site!! If possible please move this question to that category.
Last edited on
You must know Linux features well as well as C++. Familiarize yourself with all Linux OS commands.

For C++, you must know C++ features (including the Standard Library) as well as a UI and how to connect to an RDBMS (as well as the RDBMS features).

For the UI, you are familiarizing yourself with Qt.

As stated, you also need to work with an RDBMS (such as ORACLE) and learn how to connect to it using C++. Oracle provides a library for this.

You should also know how to Install an executable, for which you should learn about Software Installers.
> using C++ on/for Linux.
> What they mean and what is the relationship between C++ and Linux?

In addition to knowing C++ (which is the same everywhere), you need:
a. Familiarity with the tool chains that are used in Linux (compiler, linker, make utilities autotools etc.)
b. Familiarity with creating/using libraries in Posix http://tldp.org/HOWTO/Program-Library-HOWTO/index.html
c. Familiarity with using the shell and basic Posix utilities