processor,memory and all hardware

Hi guys so to begin I would like to say this will be a fairly long post so whoever reads this thanks for sticking with me and taking your time to read this much appreciated,

anyway I am a computer science student in my final year well I transferred to cyber security for my final year but still consider myself a computer science student as the first two years were computer science,anyway to be honest I didn't attend many lectures or labs because I have anxiety that makes travelling to the college a very daunting task it doesn't help that it's a near 3 hour commute either,I'm on medication for my anxiety and I'm coping at the moment

but I have probably missed something in between I know a little about hardware and understand how binary works and have an idea how memory works with programming languages,I have read a few books in c++ and java and none of these books sit down to explain how the computer actually handles the language and what the role of the cpu is etc

so my question is using c++ or java as the examples how does the language actually work and translate code into machine code,the cpu has it's own assembly language right?? but the cpu can only understand it's own assembly language how can the cpu understand languages such as java or c++,do the languages reside in memory? or on the cpu itself (I'm guessing not for the latter)

any help is more than appreciated

thanks
At a very simplistic level, the cpu understands only one thing - the voltage levels applied to various pins. A primitive computer can be programmed by using a set of mechanical switches to set the voltage level at those pins to either high or low.