Buffer Overflow

Hi guys just to begin with this is not for malicious purposes but I just find the concept of buffer overflow attacks fascinating,it's low level and really helps you understand programming at a lower level thats one of the reasons why I want to understand it,also I am a cyber security student and am contemplating doing my group project on buffer overflow exploits(if anybody wants proof email me and I will gladly prove I'm a student)

anyway I don't understand how this attack works first off he is using an object called byte but in c++ byte is not a data type I would have used char since it's a byte,but he used byte,I am guessing it is a type from one of the header files he has included and it is used in C,anyway char probably would have worked also right? so then he names the byte array teste and copies the values HELO respectively into each byte,obviously the array is only 24 bytes long but he writes past the 24th byte,but how does this lead to a buffer overlow exploit?

I'm guessing main which is put on to the stack is 24 bytes long not including the ESP and EBP?

if anybody doesn't want to reply in this section( for obvious purposes) please pm me,this isn't essential but I would like to know a little before deciding on my project it will be between this and possibly a keylogger

here is the video on youtube

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aEZKGW_VTd4

thanks
Last edited on
memory is a big linear vector, conceptually.
the operating system functions are stored in memory, often around location zero actually.
if you took a pointer to location 1, you could, if allowed to do so, start to over-write OS functionality with your own executable statements that do whatever !!!
Modern OS defend against this internally, so you can't do it anymore (you actually could way back when, and it was not uncommon to do so to enhance the OS).