VS Command Line Arg to string

I have been going through a couple books trying to learn C++ as I am a C# developer by trade. I have gotten some code to work but would like to understand why it works and why Microsoft uses a different implementation for the command line arguments than than the standard.

Basically the code I have bellow gets the first command line argument being the startup location and puts it into a string. Can someone explain why this works?

int _tmain(int argc, _TCHAR* argv[])
{
        auto c = argv[0];
	wstring test(&c[0]);

string test2(test.begin(), test.end());
}

Thanks.
...why Microsoft uses a different implementation for the command line arguments than than the standard.
I am afraid only MS knows for certain.

Your code works only in VS with Unicode as the Character Set, so TCHAR is actually a wchar_t.
If you use Multi Byte Character Set TCHAR is char and it doesn't compile.

BTW. I would recommend to forget this MS templates and create a empty project with a standard main function.

Also be aware that argv[0] might be null which will crash your app
@Thomas1965,

Thank you for the explanation that does help answer the question. I am told from both the book and the documentation online that argv[0] will always contain the program execution path. This was just an example anyway for me to test. I tried creating a standard main function but when I did that I was unable to pull any command line args from the array. It would only show the first character.
This should do:
int main(int argc, char *argv[])
{
  for (int i = 0; i < argc; i++)
  {
    cout << "Arg[" << i << "] " << argv[i] << "\n";
  }
}

About command line args:
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/2050961/is-argv0-name-of-executable-an-accepted-standard-or-just-a-common-conventi

What books do you have?
> why Microsoft uses a different implementation for the command line arguments than than the standard.

The Microsoft implementation does support standard-conforming main()