Programming Assignment

I'm very new to programming, and I would really like help, just enough to know where to start this problem, everyone in my class is having troubles with it too because our professor didn't really teach us that well. Please help me know where to start. This is in c++ format, and I am using visual studio.

A text file partData.txt contains information on parts sold by a company. Each line in the file contains information on one part as follows:
Part number (an integer), selling price (a double) and the quantity in stock (an integer).
Another text file orders.txt contains information on order requests to the company. Each line in the file contains information on one order as follows:
Order number (an integer), part number (an integer) and quantity requested (an integer)
Both files are in arbitrary order. Both files contains a single 0 indicate end of data.

Write a program to read and store the part information from partData.txt into a linked list of an appropriate structure type. Read, but do not store, the orders.txt file and print for each successful order, the order number, part number, quantity requested and invoice total. A successful order is one where the part has been found and there is enough quantity in stock to fulfill the order. As an order is completed, you must make appropriate changes to the quantity remaining in stock for each part. If an order cannot be completed, an appropriate message that indicates the problem must be output. You must also print after processing the orders, the total number of orders fulfilled and total orders unfulfilled. All output is to be done to the file report.txt.
Last edited on
Hi, do you know how to read from a file?
You should read http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/files/
I feel like the tutorial itself is lacking in some ways, but it's still good to read. Learning "how to learn" and how to look up documentation is a big part of programming.