End of GUI's ?

Hello, First of all I'm not a Programmer so i can't programm anything in c++ or other languages but I'm highly intrested in starting learning it!

I come from the web-development, and everytime when I and the most of web-developers look at the programmers we have the same question, Why the hell they dont use HTML/CSS as Standard for GUI's?

There is an GUI war ongoing in the programmer scene everyone is thinking he is using the best one! But in fact no GUI on earth could be so good like a crossplattform solution with HTML/CSS.

In web-development we can code in the backround with every language in the front is always HTML/CSS. So my question is are you guys also thinking this will be the end of GUI'S in next 10-15 years?

I think this is the dream of most programmer's to have 1 Standard in the world and every device can open the GUI no matter in what language you are Coding!
Why the hell they dont use HTML/CSS as Standard for GUI's?

A couple of reasons that come to mind:

There are a lot of things one wants to do in a GUI that are difficult or impossible or wildly impractical with HTML/CSS.

If I write the GUI in HTML/CSS, I then need to provide something to interpret that on any given system - basically, a web browser. Many systems don't have them (the programming world is a lot bigger than a standard consumer OS running on x86 hardware). Tell me, how would anyone even write a web browser if the only GUI option was HTML/CSS? What would actually interpret the HTML/CSS?

There is an GUI war ongoing in the programmer scene everyone is thinking he is using the best one!

I disagree. It's far more common for professional programmers to advocate using the best tool for the job, given the constraints and requirements.

But in fact no GUI on earth could be so good like a crossplattform solution with HTML/CSS.