Can Someone Code OpenGL Without math ?

closed account (DEhqDjzh)
Hi I am a very young c++ developer and In school I haven't learned matrix, vectors etc yet. I want to code a 3D Game engine but every tutorial I watch/read requires advanced math knowlege. Can i create 3d game engine without advanced math knowlege ?
yes and no :)

yes, you can do quite a bit with little to no math. You don't have to have linear algebra (matrix) but those are often use for what is called a transform -- it stores a number of rotations and positional changes of an object in space in a single operation. You can do them one by one, its just less efficient that way. There are about 3 billion examples of how to do those online, so you don't even have to understand them to code a monkey-see-monkey-do working program that uses them, though. You don't generally need other matrix code for basic, introductory / playtime graphics.

Vectors are used in a number of ways. Again, you can avoid most of them, and the examples and tools cover the rest. One of the issues with vectors is for lighting, which you can skip at first to just draw some stuff but at the end of the day, lighting is one of the biggest things in graphics and is critical to get right and fast if you want a usable engine, and it is unfortunately very complicated.

I would instead recommend you adjust your goal. Instead of trying to code an engine, which is very complex, try just drawing some stuff until you get the hang of that, and then maybe use someone else's engine for a bit, and do the engine last. You may have picked one of the hardest things to do first, which will make learning it frustrating.

Can i create 3d game engine without advanced math knowlege ?