Codechef Long Contest

problem link : https://www.codechef.com/JULY18B/problems/NSA/

even after reading the editorial i am not able to get what actually we are doing so please could someone explain me with suitable examples!
I'm just a student so this might be wrong, but here's how i interpreted it:

The program:
Basically you are asked to create a program that takes in a string as an argument and outputs the number: X + Y

(and you want X+Y to be as small as possible)

Finding X:
When your program starts you are allowed to change ONE of the letters in your string. But you dont have to do this.

X is the difference in ASCII value of the two letters that change.

So, for example, if you are given the string "abc" and you change the letter "a" to a "d":
"a" has the ASCII value: 97
"d" has the ASCII value: 100
So the difference (X) is 3 (because 100-97 = 3)

if you dont change the string then the difference (X) will always be 0.

(you may think that you should never change the string then, because then X will always be 0. But you have to keep in mind that changing one of the letters may result in Y becoming many times smaller so the overall the output of the program (X+Y) is smaller )

Finding Y:
I'm not 100% sure about this part but here is how i understood it:

Basically you have to choose two (a pair of) indices in your string array.
The two indices are denoted as i and j.

BUT you cant just choose any pair of indices, the two indices you choose must follow these "rules":

1) i must either be 1 or larger
2) i must be less than j
3) j must be less than or equal to the length of the string

4) The ASCII value of the character at index i must be less than the ASCII value of the character at index j

There may be 0 or multiple pairs that follow these rules.

Y is the number of pairs that follow the rules.

Hard part:
The hard part is that your program MUST output the smallest possible number.

So for example if you are given a string