Linux vs Windows programming

Hello guys I have a pretty complicated question I guess but I need to know how this all works,sorry if this post is long,

anyway so I have been programming on windows now for almost two years mainly using codeblocks as my IDE with gcc mingw as my compiler,I have gotten used to using libraries such as iostream,fstream,cstdlib, etc

but as mentioned I have been using them on windows and not linux,I have decided to move over to Linux just yesterday and installed qtCreator with mingw as my compiler,anyhow my question is how does it all work?

for example I heard that when you compile code on a windows machine it will only work for windows,and when you compile code on a linux or mac it will only work on those operating systems,so are the libraries the same??

is iostream for windows the exact same code as the iostream for linux?? or is the code different under the hood? in other words is the iostream,fstream,cstdlib used in windows the same iostream,fstream,cstdlib used in Linux or mac?

or are they the same libraries and just compiled into different source code,

the reason why I am asking this is because lets say standard output such as cout , when using cout wouldn't standard output be implemented differently on a windows machine in contrast to a unix machine??

**edit

maybe there is a macro #define that finds out if an OS is windows and runs windows code and a define macro that finds out if it is a Linux OS and runs the linux version?

that would be my guess am I wrong ?

thanks
Last edited on
compiled code is not portable.