String array not being detected in cpp

Hello, I've started creating a text based ASCII art driven RPG as an extension of the C++ programming I've received at uni. Generally I would avoid using a forum on how to decipher what I've done wrong but I'm somewhat new to OO style programming and I would love some help.

I've created a list of variables in a base class (Player/Hero class) where all of them are being recognised in the associated .cpp file except a string array. A similar set of variables is in another base class (Enemy class) where it has no issues except for when I declare it above other elements where it seems to corrupt them. I'm unsure on how to allocate sufficient memory to allow for larger sprites.

// This is excluding functions/constructors
class HERO
{
protected:

std::string heroClass = "No_Class";
std::string heroName = "No_Name";
int heroExperience = 0;
int heroLevelUpExperience[10] = {0,10,25,40,60,80,110,140,175,210};
int heroGold = 0;
int heroLevel = 1;
int heroTotalHealth = -1;
int heroCurrentHealth = -1;
int heroTotalMana = -1;
int heroCurrentMana = -1;
int heroTotalEnergy = -1;
int heroCurrentEnergy = -1;
int heroDamage = -1;
int heroSpeed = -1;
std::string heroSprite[19];
};

Thanks if anyone is able to help, sorry I'm still kinda new to this
What does it mean for a string array to "not be detected"?
Sorry, error stating that it is not in scope where the rest of the variables are.
Can you post all of the verbatim error messages you are recieving, and post how you are using heroClass, heroName, or heroSprite?

Also, make sure you have #include <string> in your .h file.
What you've said and shown so far tells us next to nothing. Obviously the error didn't say "it is not in scope where the rest of the variables are".
Last edited on
there are a few places your code could go 'wrong'. (the corruption you mention).

-- your heroLevelUpExperience array could be accessed out of bounds, corrupting subsequent variables.