Deriving classes from smart pointers ?

My question is about deriving classes from smart pointers. I haven't come across examples of code doing that even though it seems to me like a nifty solution in some situations. However I am not an expert c++ programmer so I am wondering if I am missing something.

The context is that I was translating a library from a garbage collected language. I wanted to keep the ease of use while avoiding memory leaks. The library deals with various geometric objects that can be transformed or combined. All objects are immutable, i.e. rotating a object creates a new object. Complex objects can refer to less complex ones, i.e. a segment is defined by two points, but there is never a cycle.

Here is sample of the code. Does it manage memory adequately, can it be done more efficiently?

#include <memory>
#include <iostream>

class iPoint{
  public:
  double x,y;
  iPoint(double x, double y):x(x),y(y){
  }
};

typedef std::shared_ptr<iPoint>  pPoint;

class Point:public pPoint{
  public:
   Point(const  double x,const double y): pPoint(new iPoint(x,y)){ }

double x(){ return get()->x;}

double y(){return get()->y;}

Point operator+(Point other){
           return Point(x() + other.x(), y() + other.y());
   }
};

class iSegment{
public:
  Point p1,p2;

iSegment(Point p1, Point p2):p1(p1),p2(p2){}
};

typedef std::shared_ptr<iSegment>  pSegment;

class Segment:public pSegment{
   public:
        Segment(Point p1,Point p2) : pSegment(new iSegment(p1,p2)){}

Point p1(){
            return get()->p1;
        }

Point p2(){
            return get()->p2;
        }

Segment operator+(Point p){
            return Segment(p1()+p,p2()+p);
        }
};

int main(){

Point p = Point(10,50) + Point(11,55);
    Segment s = Segment(p,Point(10,34)) + Point(10,10);
    std::cout << s.p1().x() << std::endl;
}
Last edited on
In your code sample it does not make sense to inherit from a shared_ptr. It is actuall much simplier without:
#include <iostream>