I made a grid, what do you think about it?

Hello!

I'm a beginner C++ programmer.
Yesterday I made the grid below, it was difficult to make. ( I'm not used YET to the intensive thinking when you make a program )

I want to improve my grid:

- Can you give me some advice about it? ( What can I do better, what are the mistakes I made, etc.. )
- I want to improve, can you tell me what I can add? Give me something to do! :)

Thank you!

ps: You can move your character ( S ) by typing w|a|s|d in the console ;)

CODE:

#include <iostream>
#include <cstdlib>
#include <time.h>

#define ONEUNIT 1
using namespace std;

/*POWERED BY: zapshe*/
void cycle();

int player = 0;

int Y = 4;  //height of the map
int X = 4;  //width of the map

int main()
{
    srand(time(NULL));
    int random = rand()%X*Y+1;

while (true)
    {
    cycle();
    }
}

void cycle()
{
    char input;
    int i;
    for( i = ONEUNIT; i <= X*Y; i++ )
        {
            if ( player == i ) 
                printf("%3s", "S");
            else
                printf("%3s", "x");
            if ( i == X || i == X*2 || i == X*3 || i == X*4)
                cout << "\n";
        }
    cin >> input; //32767 is the MAX value of a stream.
    cin.ignore(1000, '\n'); //ignores 1000 characters after the character in input. 

switch( input )
    {
        case 'a':
            player -= ONEUNIT;
            break;
        case 'd':
            player += ONEUNIT;
            break;
        case 'w':
            player -= X;
            break;
        case 's':
            player += X;
            break;
        default:
            cout << "Your input is invalid!";
            break;
    }

if ( player < ONEUNIT )
        player = ONEUNIT;
    else if ( player >= i )
        player = X*Y;
}
Last edited on
Use code tags: code] /code] Put code between that and it'll be easier to read as you'll see.