Create file to access in program

In the program I've written, I stream data into a vector<struct> from some files up to sizes of 3GB. Each time I run the program it has to read the file and stream the data. I'm still learning to program C++, but how could I create a library, maybe?, to store this data as a vector<struct> and have the program use that file?

Not sure what steps to take.

Thanks
Last edited on
you can store it as a file (prefer binary), and read that, and load up your vector of structs very efficiently.

you can make it static data in a library, but I recommend against this unless you have an exotic reason to do so. This makes changing the data much harder, and is less reusable, and so on.

as a new coder, you need to understand the pointer and file problem.
do you understand pointers yet?

if you do, the thing is, if you write a struct that contains a pointer to a file, you just write the POINTER to the file, not the DATA IT POINTS TO. And, this can be hidden by your own classes or by the STL containers: writing a std::string to a file does NOT write the string's text, it writes the string OBJECT which has a pointer, but no DATA in it. You have to manually fix this in your code. One way to do that is to use C type storage in your struct, so you can read and write the file very fast, and promote the items inside it up to c++ containers when you need to (on demand, rather than all at once, perhaps). Another way is to make a more complicated read and write that promotes as it reads.

Last edited on
I understand pointers well enough to do what you're saying at least. Didn't actually think of that. I'm capable enough to do what you're saying, just a couple of questions if you don't mind.

How would I store this binary data inside of the file and how would I go about getting the pointer to point to the correct data inside the binary file?
if your struct has no pointers,
you can just write it to the file directly, no fuss.