GUI applications

Pages: 12
Hi,

Total noob question here, so I do apologise.

So, a lot of tutorials online show the presenter using Visual Studio.(Often Community but also sometimes the full version.)

So, unless they’re only writing text-based apps, they must be using some kind of GUI library.

In my search, I’ve settled on Qt for GUI programming.
I’ve also toyed with wxWidgets, but ultimately found it much more troublesome to install and tricky to use.

If Visual Studio is the preferred GUI (especially in the Commercial realm) then what is the generally preferred library for writing GUI applications?

If Microsoft would love to have the world writing their code using Visual Studio, do they also have a workable Set of libraries to use with C++ whilst using their IDE?

If not, what does the Visual Studio-using, GUI application-programming community around the world generally tend to use?

Many thanks.

Okay, so to be clear, most people in the who write applications commercially use the Qt Libraries to write GUI applications?

Thanks.
I doubt that many commercial apps use Qt since the commercial license is quite expensive.
Qt seems more popular with open source projects.
Okay, then which libraries do the bulk of commercial C++ coders use for your plain ol’ regular commoner-garden Windows apps use?

Okay, so to be clear, most people in the who write applications commercially use the Qt Libraries to write GUI applications?

Short and long answer - yes. The easy way to check that out is to run/view their samples.

Qt class libraries handle GUI stuff in a couple of ways without resorting to additional libraries depending on exotic cases that a specific application might require or purpose built.

I think you'll also find Qt has extremely wide application commercially. The open source nature is only relevant in terms of the classes and their use, the same as C++, Windows and the like are developer accessible.