Operator Overloading is slow..

Hi,
I'm a hobbyist 3D graphics programmer and I'm about to create a camera class to enable mouselook in my terrain generation project. I thought I'd do some testing in a console application to see how to optimise C++ functions involving vector maths.

I have been timing my code using a QueryPerformanceCounter timer class and finding the time taken in milliseconds. I typically use a for loop to run the code 20000 times then divide by this number to find an average time.

I created a Vector class with operator overloading for + - and overloading / and * by a scalar float. My main concerns were with optimising normalising and cross product functions. I've found something strange though. The operator overloading calls to / take around 0.000070ms to complete. Yet if I do the same thing in code it only takes 0.000005 ms. Thats a big difference! Why are operator overloading calls so slow? Doing it yourself in code rather than relying on the class operator function is the same thing why is there such a big difference. Is it the function overhead? I'm using Visual Studio 2008.
Here is my code:

class CVector
{
public:
	float i;
	float j;
	float k;

public:

CVector();
	CVector(float, float, float);
	CVector operator + (CVector);
	CVector operator - (CVector);
	CVector operator * (float);
	CVector operator / (float);
	void printVector(void);
	void normalise(void);
	float dot(CVector);
	CVector cross(CVector);
	CVector oCross(CVector);
};

CVector CVector::operator / (float divider)
{
	CVector temp;
	temp.i = i / divider;
	temp.j = j / divider;
	temp.k = k / divider;

return temp;
}

int main()
{
	CVector up(0, 0, 1), out(0, 1, 0), right;  

right = up.cross(out);

right.printVector();

// instantiates a timer
	Timer counter;

// gets the frequency of the high resolution timer
	//printf("frequency %f\n", counter.PCFrequency);

long i;
	long num = 20000;

if (!counter.startTimer())
	{
		printf("Counter failed!\n");
		return 0;
	}