Compiler discrepancy between DevC++ and VS2008..

Hi there,

I am new to programming and recently had an assignment to create a function that would delete the repeated characters in a character array. Besides deleting the repeated characters, I also was tasked with keeping track of how many slots were being used in the array.

Now, to the crux of the situation. I created the program in Visual Studio 2008 primarily. I worked in both, but ultimately ended up using VS2008 to finish it. It compiled fine and displayed the right output. However, my teacher compiled it and ran it in Dev C++, and the output was different (wrong). Suffice to say, I had points deducted due to this discrepancy. Please have a look at my code and share your thoughts as to why it's different.... 'cause I sure can't figure it out.

Which compiler is more "accurately" compiling the code?

#include <iostream>
#include <cstdlib>
#include <cmath>
using namespace std;

void delete_repeats (char arr[], int slots);
/* Slots is the declared size of the character array arr.
   Repeated characters will be deleted within the array, whilst the empty spaces will be moved to the end of the array. 
   The displaychars function is then called, with the modified array and the new size of the array passed to it. */
void displaychars (char arrayoutput[], int slots);
/* This function displays the characters of the array passed to it, along with the size of the array, as represented by 
   slots */
int main()
{
     char testarray[20] = {'a', 'b', 'a', 'c', 'd',
     'd', 'e', 'f', 'g', 'h', 'e', 'e', 'f', 'g', 'i', 'j', 'k', 'l', 'l', 'm'};
     int size = 20;
	 cout << "Here is the test array prior to removing the duplicate characters: \n"; displaychars(testarray, size);
	 cout << "\n\nHere is the modified array, with duplicates removed: \n";
	 delete_repeats(testarray, size);

}

void delete_repeats (char arr[], int slots)
{
     int index = 0;
     int compare = 1;
     int shifter = 0;
     do
     {
         do