Ideas for C++ projects

I am a BS EE student and I have to make a C++ project. I am in my second semester. I am familiar with the use of loops, conditional statements, and a little bit about arrays, functions and pointers. In my first semester I made a MATLAB project that was like a model of an ATM machine, that showed money and transaction options on entering passwords.
So what kinda project should I make in C++ considering that I am a beginner or lets just say intermediate level programmer. Ideas please?
Couldn't you make a C++ version of your MATLAB project?

Presumably it's a different module and the languages are very different, so I'm guessing it'd be a viable project.
No this time it is a compulsion to do something different, what about the quiz program, you know that takes quiz and gives score and may be I can make a program that kinda talks to the user but like not voice using text. What do you think?
Create a c++ compiler.
A C++ compiler would be difficult. You'd probably have to write lexical and syntax analysers and some sort of code generator to convert data into assembly instructions. You'd also need to write a parser and probably implement a syntax tree, maybe brush up on reverse Polish notation. Maybe a compiler for a simpler language than C would ease the process but it'd still be difficult. I once had an assignment to write a compiler for a made up C style language called C--. Ended up getting a first class grade but it was pretty tough.

I think a machine that talks to the user (through text) would also be difficult. Theoretically easy enough, but making a convincing AI would be difficult.

The quiz is a good idea. Depends on your current knowledge of C++ and what you are expected to show in this assignment.