add error handling in my program

Hello all

I want to add error handling in my program but dont know what is the best way to do it.
Im using the cilkplus compiler which changes a little bit the way exceptions work and since im not too familiar with exceptions yet im thinking to use return values for error handling.

The thing is that the same errors occur in many different files.And all the classes are in namespaces.

I was thinking to write a new header file that defines all the error codes and include it in every file that uses them.
But is this the best way to do it ?Should i use #define or enum ?And should it be inside the namespace or not?

Thanks
I don't know the cilkplus compiler, but how different can exceptions work? Just do it with the try-catch block. Or what's the problem?
Hello

I started implementing the error handling with exceptions but since its my first time that i actually use them in my program( before it was just examples ) i have some questions about exceptions.

I read that i shouldn't use them from every kind of error that i have.
Im wondering if it is proper to use a function which throws an exception and also returns a value for checking.
For example this function
int open( const std::string& s , const char mode ) {

if( !(file = fopen( s.c_str() , mode )))
                    return 0;

doSomeWork();
           if( somethingHappend )
                  throw my_error();

return 1;
}

So now i have to check the return value in main and also write the exception handler for my_error.
I dont want to throw exceptions for every if() that goes wrong but i dont know either if i should use the exceptions this way.

Can someone explain the way i should use exceptions?I know the way they work but i dont know what is the best way to use them.

Thanks
In your function you should throw an exception if opening the file fails, because it is something you have no influence on. An exception is basically an unexpected error.