What is it like in the field?

First off, I'm new to C++. So I want to know what is it like to be in the actual field? Is it writing codes all day long? I also heard that companies are more willing to hire someone that knows how to design. Is it true?
Not only dedicated programmers use C++... So what field are you talking about exactly? Or are you asking about using C++?
He's probably asking about C++ used in a professional capacity, i.e coding programs for an employer.
I too am quite interested in this as a question.

I'm 19 and I'm just about to undergo a Computer Science BsC Degree at university in September - over the course I'll be primarily focused into C++ programming and hope to secure a job as a software developer once I finish.

I have a very good understanding of design, although I assume this would give me a better foundation for jobs available to me, I don't think it would directly impact my employability as a C++ programmer.

If there are any of you who have had or are currently employed within the software development industry I'd be greatly appreciative of any insight you could give me into what the working environment is like.

Regards

Alex.
over the course I'll be primarily focused into C++ programming and hope to secure a job as a software developer once I finish.

A course saying it's focusing on a specific language or specific technologies that are in use right now is a red flag. Learning languages or specific technologies is something you can do in your free time or in supplementary courses, not what your studies should be focused on - the main part should be language agnostic (within reasonable limits, of course examples are necessary and those will usually be demonstrated in a language determined at the beginning of the course).