spell-testing for VG prototyping

Hi all y'all C++'ers. I'm going to come right out and say that I don't know much of anything about programming. I'm a student of Video-Game Production, working outside of class-work to develop my first big project, and I need to ask for some assistance.

To be clear, this isn't really a job offer. I can't pay anyone, and it's really only a one-time thing, unless someone is feeling very charitable, but I'm in desperate need of a piece of programming. I can't move forward without it.

Clarifications out of the way, here's what's going on. I'm in the process of building character classes and assigning skills to them. As a long-time gamer, I understand that a major problem in this is properly balancing so that no one build is more or less powerful overall than any other. In order to do this, I need to be able to visualize the affects that a given ability is going to have, based on stats from both character and target. This can go from simple one-shot damage calculation, all the way to affecting the active decisions (movement, attacking, etc.) of the target itself.

The idea is simple: A grid-based (preferably hex) simulator with a 'hero' that will be casting a range of spells and abilities, a 'creature' that will be the target of these abilities, a grid-map to show the positions of both, and a read-out to tell me how the numbers turn up.