Trouble with memory allocation

I have an application that uses a char** to store char* returned from a function.

char* someFunction(int size)
{
char* someChar=new char[size];
do something
return (someChar);
}

I declare my char** at the global level like this:

char **arr;

I allocate memory to the array like this:

template <typename T>
T **AllocateDynamicArray( int nRows, int nCols)
{
T **dynamicArray;

dynamicArray = new T*[nRows];
for( int i = 0 ; i < nRows ; i++ )
dynamicArray[i] = new T [nCols];

return dynamicArray;
}

arr=AllocateDynamicArray<char>( int nRows, int nCols);

I then try looping through the array assigning the char* to arr[x] like this:

for (x=0;x<something;x++)...where something is <=nRows
arr[x]=someFunction(x);

when I output the values in arr[x], all of the values are the same...

What seems to be the disconnect...

I'm a novice with C++...my forte is with Java.

Thanks in advance.
Last edited on
Is there a reason you are not using std::string and std::vector here?
My someFunction calls another function that builds a char* randomly character by character with no term \0... not sure how i would apply the string or vector to this algorithm...

any insight would be greatly appreciated...

thanks.

edit: are you suggesting using a vector<char*> vs the char**?

thanks again.
Last edited on
He's suggesting you use vector<string>.

What do you mean it builds it character by character? Do you keep reallocating space for new characters? std::string does this for you.

If you come from Java, realize that C++ has no garbage collection, so anything allocated with NEW has to be DELETEed.

Because of the above, and many other problems, try to avoid raw pointers as much as possible. Use containers like vector, which handle allocation and deletion internally.

Don't use global variables.

And your problem is probably that your randomization function isn't actually random.

Thanks for the reply.