stack overflow - urgent

Hi,
I have written following data for my thesis and yet it gives stack overflow error. Could anyone can help please? is there a way to handle this problem???

const int I = 300;
const int Z = 30;
const int T = 400;
const int D = 5;

struct firmType
{
}

struct bankType
{
}

struct economy
{
firmType firms[I];
bankType banks[Z];
double B[Z][I][D];
}

int main()
{
economy * econptr = new economy[T];

delete [] econptr;
return 0;
}

}

seems like you are trying to allocate a very large contiguous block of memory for the econptr array.

the system may not have such a large contiguous block available to allocate for this array.

if you change your arrays to vectors then you will most likely not have the stack overflow error.
Thank you very much, but I am not very good at vectors. Could you show me how?
vector<economy> econVector; // create a vector of type economy

Off-topic chat about stack size considerations:
Looking at your code, it seems that each economy object contains 45000 double objects (ignoring the firmType and BankType objects). If each of those is four bytes, that's around 180000 bytes. You're trying to make 400 of these, so you're trying to allocate around 72000000 bytes, or roughly 72 megabytes.

Typical default stack size on a consumer Windows OS machine is one megabyte, if I recall correctly.

Last edited on
So wouldn't it give the stack overflow error when the size of the vector will reach to 1000?
I don't see why that would help. He is creating the array dynamically already.
Are you sure the problem is with the code you have shown above? Do you get a stack overflow if you run the program with the ..... code inside main removed?
#include <vector>

using namespace std;

struct firmType
{

};

struct bankType
{

};

struct economy
{
   vector<firmType>                 firms;
   vector<bankType>                 banks;
   vector<vector<vector<double> > > B;
};
and in main function:

vector<economy>      vecEcon;