Backgammon Board Game

Hi everyone,

I've just signed up so new here :-)

I'm currently a first year engineering student in New Zealand.
Part of the course entails c++ programming using Visual Studio 2010.

As part of an assignment, I've been asked to produce a "simplified" version of the board game "Backgammon" (only basic manoeuvres such as blocking / hitting etc...).

I've produced the graphics for the board and have basic functions working for mouse clicks for new game, roll dice, and exit programme, which all work. The graphic's has been produced by an add-on package provided by my lecturer (header and source files), and not using the standard c++.NET system.

However, I'm a little stumped as how to go about moving the pieces on the board, and would like some assistance or guidance from someone whom has developed such software before. Or, could you please provide some existing code of backgammon for me to use as a reference to my assignment. I can provide a copy of my code thus far if so requested.

All help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Bevan
Well you could go really simple like this (pseudo-code):
if (piece not there)
    switch (dirrection)
        case left:
            --x;
        case up:
            --y;
        etc...

That would make it so every time you program loops the piece's location would move in the direction it needs to go
Hi Angeljruiz,

Thanks for your prompt response.

I follow what you have listed above, and so has sparked a few ideas which I'll work on later tonight.