Help with writing my first code?

Hello everyone,

I am new to this forum as I just started learning C++.

I got to write a code for parallel parking for cars.
Its basically a ultra sonic sensor on the left side of the car which measures distance of the parking space and shows whether there is space for the car to park in parallel.
This measurements are processed by the small mbed processor from ARM.

So to measure the distance, following equations must be used(unless there is a mistake):

Note:
USI= Ultrasonic sensor input
Car width= x
Car length= y
Car speed= v
Time= T

1.USIprevious = Change in displacement previous
USIcurrent = Change in displacement current

2. If(USIcurrent-USIprevious) > Car width ,
then start measuring carspeed and time.
Distance= Distance + V times change in T.

3. If USIcurrent < Car width, then stop measuring.

This equations are basically saying that when the car is traveling in a street, and the distance from the side of the car becomes larger than the width of the car (which means there is some parking space probably), then from that moment the sensor will start recording the speed of the car and time. But when the sensor detects that the distance from the side of the car became smaller than the width of the car (the parking space has ended), it stops recording the speed and time and it calculates the distance by using average velocity times time.

I am a bit confused how to write a code based on this information, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

As well I hope you will understand what I wrote :)

closed account (DEUX92yv)
I think I understand what you want, but I disagree with one thing: I don't think you necessarily need (USIcurrent - USIprevious) > car width to determine that there's a potential parking space.