Computer guess my number

I know this has popped in other areas on this site but please bare with me. I just started programming in c++ earlier this week and I am working my way through a book.

There was practice programming challenge in the book. It asked to write a program that had the computer try to guess your number. I came up with this and wanted to know if this seemed like an okay way to approach this type of program.

Any assitance will be very much awesome!

Here is my code:

#include <iostream>
#include <cstdlib>
#include <ctime>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
srand(time(0)); //generates the random numbers

//variables

int compnumber = rand() % 5 + 1;
int mynumber;
int newnumber;

cout << "Welcome to the number game, I'll try to guess your number!\n\n";
cin >> mynumber;

while (compnumber > mynumber)

{
cout << "I guessed too high\n\n";
cout << "\nI had guessed the number " << compnumber << "\n\n";
compnumber = rand() % 5 + 1;
cout << "Enter your number again please\n\n";
cin >> mynumber;
}

while (compnumber < mynumber)
{
cout <<"\nI guessed too low\n\n";
cout << "I had guessed the number " << compnumber << "\n\n";
compnumber = rand() % 5 + 1;
cin >> mynumber;
}

if (compnumber == mynumber)
{
cout << "\nThat was easy, human!\n\n";
cout << "I guessed " << compnumber << "\n\n";
}

system ("pause");

return 0;

}
Yes, it is a very good approach, but this part can be omitted and u can still get the result.
cin >> mynumber;

Another thing, instead of using system("pause"); try using cin.ignore();
And the last thing is the following, in order to delete the first thing i mentioned u need to change the while buckles for if conditions and write a do while buckle this way,
do{
//guessing stuff
}while (compnumber !=mynumber)

However, those are simple recommendations or preferences I have. Well done =)