Working with strings, files and time-tag calculation

Hello CPP community.

I've been interested in doing a little program for work at which I'm an apprentice which could aid me in facilitating the process of working out some necessary checks.

In short, I'm to calculate a series of times from start to end, and find out the duration between them, sum them up and see if they're above a certain value or not, for each particular instance.

My goal is to provide a prepared text file with time tags such as this:

Mon 19-Nov-2012 09:12 	Mon 19-Nov-2012 09:34
Wed 21-Nov-2012 13:14	Wed 21-Nov-2012 17:11
Fri 07-Dec-2012 15:21	Fri 07-Dec-2012 15:26
=============================================
Mon 26-Nov-2012 12:50	Tue 27-Nov-2012 15:29
Wed 12-Dec-2012 13:07	Wed 12-Dec-2012 14:58
Fri 14-Dec-2012 14:22	Fri 14-Dec-2012 14:29

And the program is able to calculate the total time relevant to each instance (instances separated by a line of '=').
Some form of number should somehow identify each instance or something similar and a text file is generated with total time printed for each instance

e.g.
Instance 1: 00h22m + 03h57m + 00h05m = 04h24m
Instance 2: 04h15m + 07h44m + 01h51m + 00h07m = 14h04m

Now I'm currently working on making the logic to calculate time within the ranges I'd like based on several parameters, the problem I'd like some help with is the following:

Are there any references I can use when it comes to working with strings in order to seek and extract these values in order to work with them? The documentation available on this website, despite being very informative, does not show practical applications of said class and I'm at a loss on how to implement the functionality.

Thanks for any tips and information.
You should try using boost::date_time library: http://www.boost.org/doc/libs/1_52_0/doc/html/date_time.html