Base class design

closed account (o3hC5Di1)
Hi everyone,

As I'm still quite new to C++, I'm still unsure at times about what the best practice is to implement things.

My current project is writing a library, mostly for personal use.
It required a lot of "crudl" operations, so I decided that would make a good abstract base class:

template <typename ItemType, typename ListType>
class crudl_base
{
    virtual operation_status create(ItemType&)=0;
    virtual operation_status read(ItemType&)=0;
    virtual operation_status update(ItemType&)=0;
    virtual operation_status destroy(ItemType&)=0;
    virtual operation_status list(ListType&)=0;
    //...
};

//Example subclass:
class person_crudl : crudl_base<person, personlist>
{
    operation_status create(person& p) { //write to database etc. }
    //...
};

//Example usage:
person_crudl pc;
person p;
p.name = "foo"
operation_status status = pc.create(pc);

if (status == operation_status::SUCCESS)
    std::cout << "Person created";
if (status == operation_status::FAIL_DB
    std::cout << "Database failure";
if (status == operation_status::FAIL_UNIQUE)
    std::cout << "Person name must be unique.";

Now, I have 2 main questions, which raise some related questions:

1. Is this a proper design of the crudl_base class? More in particular, is it good practice for the functions to just take an ItemType object? This is a uniform interface, but what if a property which is needed by the function was not set? (i.e. the above example, what if p.name was not set before passing it in?). Should there be additional functions taking int (for id), and strings (for a secondary index)?