SDL font not showing

Pages: 12
closed account (96AX92yv)
hello,
I am quite new to the SLD_ttf lib and I have been following the Lazy Foo' tuts on it but the text is not appearing. I have found out that it is not loading the font as I have added in the code saying if it has failed.
Code:
font = TTF_OpenFont( "lazy.ttf", 28 );
if( font == NULL )
{
return false;
}

i have saved this font in the project (project name/project name/lazy.ttf). I am wondering if any1 knows how to fix this problem

thanks in advance
Have you initialized SDL_ttf? (using TTF_Init() ? )

Also, make sure to have the font in the same directory as the generated executable, not just as your project. So if your generated executable is in, e.g. : " project name/project name/Debug/ ", your font should be :

project name/project name/Debug/lazy.ttf

In VS, which I assume the OP is using due to the typical project path, the working directory is usually not the one the executable is in. By default, it's the directory the project file is in.

What I would suggest doing is creating a file in your code that you know doesn't exist

ofstream out("test");

then checking to see whether that file is created in the same directory where lazy.ttf is residing. If it is, then lazy.ttf is in the correct directory. If it's not, then lazy.ttf is not in the correct directory.
Good point cire, I agree, that would definitely clarify the issue. I am using Visual Studio myself and I have noted that running a compiled program from inside Visual Studio and running it outside of Visual Studio can produce different behavior regarding the working directory.

I find my default working directory for a VS project is specified in Project Properties -> Configuration Properties -> Target Name (which is set as the macro $(ProjectName) by default).

Last edited on