regex help

Hello forum,
I am having an issue with the regular expressions in the C++11 extension. Below is a surrogate for my code...
		regex rgx;
		smatch result;
		for (int i=0; i<num_var; i++ )
		{
			rgx.assign("%\(.*\)");
			do some stuff with this value of rgx...

while (infile.peek() != '\n')
			{
				getline(infile,stmp1);
				rgx.assign("\..*:[1-999]");
			        do some stuff with the new value of rgx...	
			}
		}

what happens is that the first rgx.assign() works, but the second gives me an error at runtime.

terminate called after throwing an instance of 'std::regex_error'
what(): regex_error
Aborted

Does anyone know how I can reassign the regular expression in the rgx variable? Thanks
Last edited on
Also, I am new to regular expressions but I think those are right...would someone be able to check if those are correct for searching the patterns

%(NAME)

and

.NAME:#

where NAME can be any letter andthe # can take any number between 1-999? The first seems to work, but the compiler gives me warnings about the \) in the first and the \. in the second. Thanks
Last edited on
...but the compiler gives me warnings about the \) in the first and the \. ...

That's because you should escape the backslashes. i.e.

"%\\(.*\\)"

and

"\\..*:[1-999]"

The first regex is correct for finding %(NAME) where NAME can be a string of ANY character. Also watch out for the "greediness" of the * operator. It may match more than you want. For instance, your first regex will match this whole string "%(abc123) Hello (Hi)". If you only want to match the "%(abc123)" then you will have to modify your regex.

and the # can take any number between 1-999?

The error in the second regex is due to the multiple nines. [1-999] will not match any number between 1 and 999. It's an error because what [1-999] means is "match any character that's any digit between 1 and 9 or 9 or 9". There should be only unique characters in the character class.