Good c++ game library?

closed account (ETAkoG1T)
I want to install a game library to my c++ visual studio 2012 express. I have found a couple of libraries but none of them were either easy .exe installs or pre installed in the program. I want something that is a good start and that is not hard to install. I am mostly interested in just 2d stuff for now, but 3d capabilities doesn't hurt :P
Last edited on
Try SFML or
Try SDL if you are quite hardcore.

But I don't think there is any easy exe install or such for C++ Libraries for as long as I've been learning ( I've only been learning for 2 years now ).

Just put the header file inside include folders
and setup the link to the linker file
Installing libraries are really frustrating -.- I have looked on google and youtube but nothing good to find... How do I install SDL on visual studio without having to type in the terminal and mess too much with directories?
Wait, you are using windows right ?

So long as I know there 2 thing to do
Copy the header files to the include folder ( so you can #include them )
and link to the linker file so that exe can connect to the dll

Well, for visual studio it's quite complecated ( for me )
I use code::blocks

You really want SDL ???
Well, I prefer SFML but if you want SDL then it's your choice

Just follow these instructions on Lesson 1
http://lazyfoo.net/SDL_tutorials/index.php
Last edited on
I found a youtube tutorial that showed how to set everything up. It all works :) The only negative thing is that I have to do it every time I make a new project -.- And I like to make many small projects rather than few but big ones.
You can either make a template project that you'd copy and paste for each new project, or you can install the libraries in a way other than what the YouTube video showed you.