Creating a Game

Hello! I am a programmer that is new to the language of C++, and i am very confused about one thing. How do i read a specific part of a file? I am trying to create a game that reads the prices of an object inputted by the user from a file. This is the code i have so far
 #include <iostream>
 #include <fstream>
  using namespace std;

int main () {

ifstream infile;

infile.open ("Objects.txt", ifstream::in);

int ch = infile.get();
  while (infile.good()) {
    cout << (char) ch;
    ch = infile.get();
  }
 }

The file contains this :

Example objects
( ) store items
(item) (purchase value)/(sell value)

Grocery Store Items
Fish 5 7
Vegetables 10 15
Drinks 20 30

Weapon Store Items
Pistol 300 375
Rifle 400 500
Ammunition 20 30

Thanks for taking your time to read this and helping create this game with me!
I will mention your username in a comment in the code! :)
Last edited on
closed account (Dy7SLyTq)
first on line 9 its ios::in not ifstream::in second its useless because ifstream is that by default. third why not use std::string line
while(getline(infile, line))
{
cout<< line << endl;
}
If you already know the position in the file that you want to read from (or you want to know what the current position is), you can use istream::tellg() and istream::seekg() to respectively get and set the position within the file that you want to read next.

http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/istream/istream/tellg/
http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/istream/istream/seekg/

However, in this case what you want is to determine the parts of the file that are of interest. That happens through parsing the file's content and determining what is the relevant part by means of comparison with the surrounding entries.

E.g.