Codes between Compilers

Pages: 12
closed account (1wvX92yv)
HI.
I use Turbo c++ with dosbox at home, and i wanted to enter an online competition for writing codes.
After i wrote the code, it worked perfectly.
But when i submit it, it says wrong output......but it works fine on my turbo c++.
On checking the help section, it say the judge environment is

C++ g++ 4.6.3 -std=c++0x -w -O2 -fomit-frame-pointer -lm

I dont know what that means........how do i get my code to work for them?

Any help regarding this problem will be highly appreciated
Can you download the gcc compiler or even an IDE with the gcc compiler in it?

Turbo C++ is seriously old (20+ years) anyway, so you might as well update.
Dear theldeasman,
I am a student and I am just learning c++.
They teach me in turbo c++ and I am expected to use it in board examinations as well. Thus I am comfertable with it.......

I have tried visual c++ but couldn't work out how to make the program run......

if u could please help me regarding how to go about downloading the gcc ide, I would be highlygrateful

Thanks for ur help..........
Also, is there a way to convert codes in turbo c++ into something that is compatible with gcc?
Often you get different compiler behavior with code which isnt conform to the standard. Fit your code in the concerned lines.
But how do I know what the conform lines are?
how do i get my code to work for them?

Rewrite it in C++. "Turbo C++", despite the name, doesn't support C++, the language, as defined since 1998. (Before 1998, C++ was in active development and existed as a many constantly changing dialects and implementations, Turbo was one of them)
Last edited on
So which compiler should I use to get the required result?
gcc?

The Errors you get show you the concerned code lines.
It doesn't show me any lines.......just says the output is wrong.

But it works perfectly on my comp
if u could please help me regarding how to go about downloading the gcc ide, I would be highlygrateful