Howto retrieve the corresponding cpp-file of given header-file

Hey everybody,
I am rather new to C++ and i just registered for this forum because i need help with an issue that at first sight seems to be very specific, but is rather a general thing, I guess:

I am using the OpenCV library (2.3.1-7) and Qt-Creator (2.4.1) and I have this simplified piece of code that reads in an image as cv::Mat and then applies the OpenCV function pyrDown to the cv::Mat.

#include "opencv2/highgui/highgui.hpp"
#include "opencv2/gpu/gpu.hpp"

using namespace std;
using namespace cv;

int main()
{
    Mat image1=imread("../image1.jpeg");
    imshow("image1",image1);

cv::Mat pyrimag;
    pyrDown(image1,pyrimag);
    imshow("pyrimag",pyrimag);

while(true) {
        char c = cvWaitKey(33);
        if( c == 'c' ) break;
     }
    return 0;
}

This piece of code runs just fine and puts out the two different images as exected.
What I need to do now is to retrieve the source code of the "pyrDown"-function and then modify it according to the needs of the project that I am working on.

If I comment out the following line
//#include "opencv2/gpu/gpu.hpp"
then this results in the following error message:
'pyrDown' was not declared in this scope.
Apparently, pyrDown only works if #include "opencv2/gpu/gpu.hpp" is included in my code. Therefore the header of pyrDown should be included in this file, correct??

I am using Qt-Creator and the tooltip text for "pyrDown" is as follows:
"void pyrDown(InputArray src, OutputArray dst, const Size &dstsize=Size())"

Therefore, when i checked the file "/usr/include/opencv2/gpu/gpu.hpp" (which is the complete path to the file), looking for the headers of "pyrDown" I expected to find a matching header.
But instead, I only found this:

//! smoothes the source image and downsamples it
        CV_EXPORTS void pyrDown(const GpuMat& src, GpuMat& dst, Stream& stream = Stream::Null());

struct CV_EXPORTS PyrDownBuf;