if(char_set[val])
{
return false;
}
char_set[val] = true;
}

return true;
}

Hi....I came across this code to find if string has unique characters...i didnt understand why they subracted ascii value of character '0' in the statement int val = _str[i]- '0' and what is happening with the statements...if(char_set[val])
{
return false;
}
char_set[val] = true;

i take each character in the sting and traverse the whole string .and if count is 2 i use break and conclude that its not unique and not otherwise...can i use this method or this is not efficient????

please help....i am new to c++...thanks..
This is just trying to create an index value for each printable character.

lets say _str has "hello world" in it.
int val =_str[0] - '0' will give the ascii value of the first letter;
this will convert '0' to its ascii value 48 (is it 47 ?) and h to 104. So you will get 104 - 47 = 57;

similarly, for each character a unique value will be generated and then that index in char_set will be set to true;
in case that index is again generated (this will happen if that character will come again), then that index in char_set will already be true and it will be assumed that the character has already been seen and its not a unique string.
thanks @ writetonsharma (1243)

cant i work it out through alternative method like this...... i take each character in the sting and traverse the whole string .and if count is 2 i use break and conclude that its not unique and not otherwise...can i go this method or this is not efficient????
using this statement int val =_str[0] - '0' what if one of the characters in the string has ascii value less than 48 and val turns into negative....then particular character will not get any place in char_set for its boolean......why cant we leave it like this...int value=str[0]????

thanks
> int val =_str[0] - '0' what if one of the characters in the string has ascii value less than 48 '0' and val turns into negative

Undefined behaviour.