General C++ Programming - April 2019 (Page 3)

Compilation errors

I am a Java programmer migrating to C++ and I am having occasional difficulties understanding the differences between references and pointers. I am getting a co...
[8 replies] Last: I thought java had added the ability to have subroutines? Does it STI... (by jonnin)
Double free or corruption memory dump

When compiling my program, I continue to get this error message: "***Error in `./TwoSum': double error or corruption (fasstop)...". I don't know how to read ass...
[13 replies] Last: For some reason I thought it would run in O(log n) but that doesn't ma... (by vaderboi)
Undefined Symbols

I'm trying to create a linked list but I get that error always. I separated it into .hpp and .cpp files, and thats where the problem lives I guess, the error I ...
[3 replies] Last: More specifically, you have to: - compile each source code file to an ... (by MikeyBoy)
by bonho
smart pointers

I am writing a program with two parts. (A) sends an object to (B) which stores it, and once sent, (A) can only modify part of that object. I am stuck with poi...
[5 replies] Last: Thanks, I'll try it out (by bonho)
by turqo
Extract char elements from vector string

what is wrong in this : (really helpful if someone explains concept thanks : ) ) #include <iostream> #include <vector> #include <string> using namespac...
[3 replies] Last: THANKS GUYS (by turqo)
by rsp19
Debug assertion failure

I'm new to C++ and I'm having trouble with a debug assertion failure. It appears each time I try to run the program. It reads: Expression: string subscrip...
[1 reply] : Don't double-post. http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/beginner/252630/ (by helios)
Linked List

How do you add a new_Node directly behind the last_Node in a circular linked list when it is full? Would it be like this: Queuenode * new_Node = new Link (...
[14 replies] Last: void Display(std::ostream& os) const { if (Empty()) return; Queueno... (by dhayden)
by Ilfau