General C++ Programming - August 2017

by nyck66
C: recursive merge sort for a linked list

I apologize for the upcoming wall of code. The merge sort for a linked list has to be of return type void and must take as its parameter the header to a link...
[2 replies] Last: The structure of your sort is off: sort() and merge() should be mutual... (by Duthomhas)
Creating vim like text editor in c++

I want to create a vim like text editor in c/c++, but unfortunately i don't know from where to start. Can some one please guide me from where i can start my pro...
[6 replies] Last: Cubbi is being a pedant because the term is being used in a nonsense... (by Duthomhas)
Trying to create a running total with many data types

I am trying to create a program that only adds the distance of the feeder if all of the feeder "attributes" are the same (except for the distance). If the attri...
[2 replies] Last: Thanks Ganado, Sorry, this is my first time posting to this forum, an... (by akrieman)
by fmad
Concurrent lock-free unique id generator

Hello. I'm trying to implement a concurrent lock-free unique id "generator". Currently it looks more or less like this: using UID = unsigned; class UIDPool {...
[14 replies] Last: Well I've tested atomicity of 64-bit variables on needed architectures... (by fmad)
string C++

What is a string in C++ and what is the difference with C-string; What is the use of string tables in c++;
[2 replies] Last: This is a duplicate. Also, the length of the buffer and the length of... (by jonnin)
How to loop through the lines on the file

So i want to make a directory, when a certain scope of work is searched, the details of the supplier will appear, my problem is how do i loop through the lines ...
[2 replies] Last: Thanks so much for the response. More Power! :) (by Paulicious)
Patterns

Could anyone please make the following pattern by accepting the number of lines , and also explain to me the logic behind adding the spaces . ABCDEFGFEDCBA A...