General C++ Programming - December 2017 (Page 3)

by dbag
Access violation reading location 0x00701000

I am a C# developer by trade who has recently taken a job in C++ and I am trying to spin up. I have been reading the book a Tour around C++ and trying to test o...
[12 replies] Last: Do you know by chance if they are any books that help .NET developers... (by Repeater)
Why is compiling with <regex> header slower than average?

I'm using g++ (GCC) 7.2.1 20171128 compiler on a GNU/Linux system, and I've noticed that compiling a simple file with <regex> header included takes noticably lo...
[no replies]
by dbag
Template Class Won't Compile Once Method is Called

I am new to C++ and trying to implement a basic template class. I am using Visual Studio 2013 for reference. I can create the class, members and methods without...
[2 replies] Last: So that fixed the issue. I deleted the .cpp file and simply implemente... (by dbag)
Help Bool Accepts int* as well until a bool function is overridden why is it so ?

I have a code as below.. 1 #include <iostream> 2 #include <stdio.h> 3 4 void balaji(void *x, bool y) 5 { 6 printf("Balaji in BOOL %d \n", ...
[1 reply] : > when I override overload balaji() with a new function balaji(voi... (by JLBorges)
Methods without class

In our project I came across with a source file where there was a method that had no class. That method is called once directly from class A, and nowhere else. ...
[4 replies] Last: For the question of why a function is only being used once, or why hav... (by Ganado)
by H00G0
Game Idea, recommendations

Hey people! So I've had an idea for a game for a while now, while I'm learning C++. I think I can get around with pretty much the “basics” of object ori...
[2 replies] Last: @Repeater Thank you for the suggestions, I knew about SDL2 but I didn... (by H00G0)
by Khaye
ASCENDING ORDER ARRAY OF NUMBERS