General C++ Programming - February 2019

Match string exactly with regex

I want to create a std::regex that matches a std::string exactly. I have tried by just passing the string as argument to the regex constructor but that will obv...
[7 replies] Last: Makes perfect sense. Could be it is the best, too... this kind of co... (by jonnin)
Pointer question

I am just learning all the nuances of using pointers and have run into a sticky problem. I am building a binary search tree. I have allocated multiple nodes (u...
[6 replies] Last: this worked for me: int * p = new int; delete &(p ); but it is just... (by jonnin)
How to know what I don't know about C++

As a self learner,I am struggling to get any confidence in programming. When I see typical easy problem I just don't feel interested to solve. But when I see th...
[4 replies] Last: The problem I see when I read your post is that you do not understand ... (by jonnin)
by rhall
Get line number of error in c++ program

Hi.. I have a C++ program that I want to trap errors in. I have added the __try and __except code, but can't get what I want. In the __except error handler...
[1 reply] : Just use StackWalker. https://github.com/JochenKalmbach/StackWalker (by helios)
by elsa
Problems with UnsortedList

Hello. I am having trouble with the functions in my program, particularly the getChoice function and how to flesh that out to properly follow the guidelines of ...
[5 replies] Last: This worked, for reference. int main() { UnsortedList list; list... (by elsa)
Question hw

I have to create a program that calculates the total due on sales taxes for a quarter period of the year based on the sales and jurisdiction. I have this so f...
[7 replies] Last: We can already guess based on the posted data (despite one typo on it)... (by keskiverto)
How do we know if a cached item is valid or invalid ?