General C++ Programming - July 2012 (Page 2)

need help with cygwin

how do i compile cpp using gVim? im totally new to cygwin
[1 reply] : gVim isn't a compiler, its a text editor or mini ide. You need to use ... (by closed account o1vk4iN6)
TinyXml-2 Issue

I recently migrated from one to the other. A statement like int map_w = root->IntAttribute("width"); would work in TinyXml, but my program is crashing on this...
[2 replies] Last: I haven't, but I've been using TinyXml for over a year now. I'm sure t... (by RedTheGreen)
Issue With Direct3D's Direct3DCreate9()

If you've used Direct3D 9 before, you'll know that you need a Direct3D context in order to create a Direct3D device. This is exactly what I've done, but Direct...
[no replies]
Confused about typedef for structures

I was informed that if I want to return a struct from a function I should typedef it. In regards to typedef'ing, which is the proper syntax for it. I tried read...
[5 replies] Last: The first and the third declarations of the structure are correct. The... (by vlad from moscow)
Exporting a video to a common file format.

How can I export something in C++(like a group of pictures) to a file like .AVI or .WMV? I am sort of a beginner and haven't been doing a TON of coding yet. I...
[2 replies] Last: Ok thanks I'll give it a try. (by codeman)
Reading and showing various structures from a file?

I create a text file and store a structure in it, using fwrite. I then store another structure the same way in the same file. Then I want to read the structures...
[1 reply] : Open the text file. If both sets of data are in it, your reading code ... (by Moschops)
Recording Programs.

Is there an easy way to record a video or take a screenshot of my program(or the whole computer screen) I would like to know if there was a simple way or if I ...
[2 replies] Last: If it makes a difference I am programming for windows and the project ... (by codeman)
static composition