General C++ Programming - May 2013 (Page 5)

by Daleth
String literal with constexpr

I have a binary identifier which I tried to make a constexpr since all of its calculations would never occur during runtime (this is true for literal identifier...
[4 replies] Last: Alright, thanks for the suggestions. On a side note, how come you don'... (by Daleth)
C++ ARRAY_SIZE() - why you still need a macro

Now, as I'm primarily a Visual C++ developer, I use the _countof() macro which is provided by the Microsoft version of stdlib.h. For C, this is just #defin...
[no replies]
Inheritance problem

Hi, I have an abstract base class - let's call it MyInterface - and a class that most classes in my program inherit from, let's call it MyBaseclass. Let's...
[2 replies] Last: Your comment made me start thinking in a new direction, I've solved i... (by Andersson)
by naz
How many bytes will the pointer intPtr of type int move in the following statement? intPtr += 3 ;

How many bytes will the pointer intPtr of type int move in the following statement? intPtr += 3 ; (a) 3 bytes (b) 6 bytes (c) 12 bytes (d) 24 bytes ...
[2 replies] Last: 3*sizeof(int) bytes. So (b), (c) or (d) depending on machine. (by MiiNiPaa)
Runtime speed integer versus double

Dear fellow programmers, Is using integers faster than using floating points? Or more precise: what do you estimate as the chance that writing a custom float...
[2 replies] Last: MiiNiPaa, Thanks for the reference! I posted my conclusions (and tha... (by Bilderbikkel)
C++ Files / End of Line

Hi, i have a question about files in c++. I need to do a program that reads a .txt file and stores it into a bidimentional character array and the show it in...
[2 replies] Last: The call to getline() is its own end-of-file condition: like most othe... (by Cubbi)
by naz
Choose the correct answer.

Consider the following code segment. What will the following code segment display? int main(){ int age = {0}; cout << age ; } (a) Values of all elem...