General C++ Programming - September 2018

Help with files and counter

This code is suppose to read a file with student ids and their test scores which then gets an average and put all the information in another file. The problem i...
[1 reply] : Let's look at this snippet: void readscore (int &id, int &test, int &... (by jlb)
by Lyrix
Which one cause std::bad_alloc

Thx class Solution { public: vector<string> solution; vector<string> findItinerary(vector<pair<string, string>> tickets) { ...
[1 reply] : The scope of solution is incorrect. Your bad_alloc can happen in s... (by kbw)
problem with a cubic function code

I am a beginner with c++ and am experimenting with functions. I am trying to create a code that gives you the zero(s) of a cubic functions when you enter the a,...
[6 replies] Last: You can find the full method here: https://imgur.com/a/kX2mno3 Coded,... (by lastchance)
SIGSEGV on codechef

I submitted this code for this challenge https://www.codechef.com/problems/CHEFCHR and got a SIGSEGV fault though the code works fine on my VS 2017 - though I d...
[3 replies] Last: @Peter87, @keskiverto, thanks it's working now. I even got 100% :) He... (by Thomas1965)
Constructors

In c++ if I define a class to have a default constructor as well as a parameter based constructor but in the main I only instantiate an instance of the class us...
[2 replies] Last: Look at the C++14 tab in http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/vector/vec... (by keskiverto)
Pass data of pointer to pointer

Hi, I am creating a function that will take a void * and pass its value to another void * Here is code: bool test(void* datatoadd, unsigned long long siz...
[3 replies] Last: You should work out why you're trying to write over memory that doesn'... (by Repeater)
by ram000
A simple question about why it always tells me character constant is too long