• Forum
  • Jobs
  • This girl dreams of a C++ man... are you

This girl dreams of a C++ man... are you the man for me?

Hello,

I'm a Stanford University student studying business. I want to start my own technology firm when I finish my studies and have decided to learn to code. Having a good knowledge of programming will give me an advantage in the tech industry and will also give me an appreciation for the work programmers do. I can't squeeze any more classes into my college schedule (due to both time and cost), so I'm learning to code on my own. Just started studying Bjarne Stroustrup's Programming Using C++ and searching for an excellent C++ mentor who can help when I'm stuck. Posting questions on forums seems to be hit and miss and as my time is very limited, I'd love to have someone I can go to directly.

I'm a complete newbie to programming but not someone who has to be spoon-fed everything. I'm a self-learner and I am very detail oriented. Ideally, my mentor will be very knowledgeable in C++, organized, able to explain things clearly, and has some time to guide me and help me through difficult areas. Someone who can respond quickly is a must.

In return for the mentoring, I offer help in my areas of knowledge (business). It could be the writing of a business plan for a venture, creating a marketing plan for an app, obtaining financing for a business, finding programming jobs, etc. The help given will be based on my mentor's needs, so this can be discussed.

Thanks for stopping by and please feel free to offer any suggestions on how I can find a good mentor,

Monroe
My best advice would be to learn from internet tutorials. You really don't need a mentor at the moment, just try to get into coding. If you don't like it and want to quit (though I'd recommend sticking with it), then you don't lose any money (if you end up paying the person), only time.

chrisname wrote: